Galapagos Islands

The Galapagos Islands are an archipelago consisting of a group of islands, which is located approximately 1,050 km off the coast of Ecuador. From a political point of view, these islands are classified as a province of Ecuador, which contains about thirteen large volcanic islands, and it also includes six smaller islands. , and about 107 small rocks and islands that are distributed in the equator, and it should be noted that these islands are considered one of the World Heritage sites, and are famous for the abundance of wild and marine animals endemic to them, in addition to the studies of Charles Darwin in them, which led to the development of the well-known theory of evolution, In this article, we will talk about the Galapagos Island.[1]

Animals of the Galapagos Island

A group of exotic and unique birds and animals live on these islands, the most important of which is a rare type of cormorant or what is known as a sea crow that cannot fly, as well as a penguin that is believed to live only in Antarctica, in addition to the gramophone; It is an unknown type of bird, and these islands also contain a group of huge turtles weighing more than 230 kg, and it should be noted that the Spanish word for turtles, galapagos, which is the name given to this island. It is believed that the most amazing animals in the Galapagos Islands are the lizards known as iguanas, which are characterized by their ability to swim, dive, and stay under water until they cool for about half an hour, and then climb on the rocks to enjoy the warm sunshine on their skin, and this type of Lizards are the only ones in the world that can swim, and are also distinguished by their length of more than a meter, in addition to this, these islands contain many familiar creatures, such as: egrets or herons, as well as sea birds known as gannets or dumb, as well as Scarlet crabs are similar to those species that live in the Atlantic Ocean.[2]

History of the Galapagos Island

The five largest islands in the Galapagos Islands are Isabela or Albemarle, Santa Cruz or Indefatigable, San Cristobal, Fernandina, and San Salvador. Ecuador, in 1946, specifically after the end of World War II.[3]

The government of Ecuador established the Galapagos National Park in 1959 AD on these islands, with the aim of protecting the environment, and established a nature reserve to protect the animals there from the dangers surrounding them.[4]


  1. ↑ The Editors of Encyclopaedia Britannica, “The Galapagos Islands”,, Retrieved 8-19-2018. Edited.
  2. ↑ BRYAN NELSON (1-11-2013), “14 unique animals of the Galapagos Islands”,, Retrieved 8-19-2018. Edited.
  3. ↑ “A brief history of the galapagos”,, Retrieved 8-19-2018. Edited.
  4. ↑ “Galapagos national park”,, Retrieved 19-8-2018. Edited.

Information about the Galapagos Island

writing – on the date : – Last updated: 2022-06-20 03:42:01