There is no doubt that the reasons that lead some people to delete their email are multiple, some of them want to change the email and others want to move to an email account on another platform.
So we will present to you how to permanently delete your Gmail account with or without deleting the primary Google account.
How to permanently delete a Gmail account
Deleting your Google account permanently deletes a large portion of your data, as well as disposing of all data and content from this account, according to the site. How Stuff Works.
This step also deletes all your files, calendar events, photos, and services like Drive.
If you want to keep a Google account and only want to delete Gmail, you will still have access to the purchases you made on Google Play on your smartphone.
Before you start, we advise you to review and download all the data you want to keep as Google allows users to archive their records by downloading their information; This step exports and downloads data from apps like Gmail, Docs, Calendar, Pictures, and YouTube and sends it directly to your inbox, Dropbox, Drive, OneDrive or Box.
Steps to delete a Gmail account
- Go to myaccount.google.com
- Click “Data and Personalization” on the left.
- Scroll down “Download, delete, or plan your data.”
- Click “Delete a service or delete your account”.
- This takes you to a page where you are given some options.
- Click “Delete Service”.
- You may need to sign in again.
If you change your mind at a later time, you can restore your old Gmail as long as it has not been too long, but Google is still vague about how much time you have to reactivate the account.
You also have to rest assured that Google does not allow anyone to use your Gmail address even if you delete it.
What happens when you delete a Gmail account?
- Email and mail settings are deleted.
- You will not be able to use your Gmail address to forward or receive emails, and if you change your mind, you may be able to recover your Gmail address.
- Your Google Account will not be deleted, only Gmail will be deleted.
- Your activity and purchases you took from Google Play will remain the same.
Steps to completely delete a Google account
If you want to completely delete your Google account, it will delete your Gmail email, files on Drive, Dropbox, Youtube, and other services it provides.
- To delete your Google Account, follow these steps:
- Go to your account on Google.
- On the left navigation panel, click Data & Personalization.
- On the Set up, download, or delete a plan for your data panel, click Delete a service or delete your account.
- On the Delete your Google Account panel, click Delete your account.
What happens when you delete a Google account?
- When you delete a Google account, you will lose all kinds of content and data on that account, such as emails, files, calendar and photos.
- You will not be able to use Google services that you sign in to with that account, such as Gmail, Google Drive, Google Calendar and Google Play.
- You will not be able to access subscriptions and content purchased with this account on YouTube or Google Play, such as apps, movies, games, music and TV shows.
- If you have more than one Google account, deleting one will not delete the others.
- You can delete your Google Account at any time, and if you change your mind, you may not be able to recover the account.